Tuesday, 1 October 2013

DAP polls: Ngeh-Nga out of favour?

DAP’s central executive committee (CEC) re-election today started with the circulation of a ‘candidates list’ that urged the delegates to vote against Ngeh-Ngah cousins, and withdrawal of 17 candidates from the race.

Although Perak DAP leaders Ngeh Koo Ham and Nga Kor Ming formed an influential power bloc in the state, their names were however excluded from the favourable candidates list by the so-called mainstream fraction in the party.

The 20-men name list, or “menu” in local political term, contained the names of most of the candidates elected in the December elections but left out Ngeh, Ngah and Johor DAP chief Boo Cheng Hau.

Detractors have criticised Ngeh and Nga for running their own show in Perak, and said the duo’s insistence in fielding their own men in the 13th general election as among the reasons for Pakatan to fail in recapturing Perak.

In last December’s CEC election, Ngeh clinched the 19th slot with 824 votes while Nga came at number 12 with 1,075 votes. The results have been declared null and void by the Registrar of Societies, resulting in the party holding a re-election today.

DAP has 2,076 eligible delegates, of which 1,720 can cast the votes today, ad hoc returning officer Ong Kian Ming said.

Meanwhile, 17 of the 68 candidates withdrew from contesting, adhering the call of the central leadership to maintain the same 20 candidates who were elected in December.

They were DAP’s Teras assemblyman Choong Siew Onn, Bakri MP Er Teck Hwa, Kota Alam Shah assemblyman V. Ganabatirau, Datuk Keramat assemblyman Jagdeep Singh Deo, Perak DAP committee member V. Jaya Balan and Sabai assemblyman Kamache Doray Rajoo.

Also quitting the race were former Teluk Intan MP M Manogaran, Negeri Sembilan organising secretary Ng Chin Tsai, Komtar assemblyman Ng Wei Aik, Seri Delima assemblyman RSN Rayer, Negeri Sembilan committee member Siew Kim Leong, Soh Boon Hong, Tan Lee Koon, Teo Kok Seong, Sarawak state treasurer Violet Yong and member Roseli Abdul Ghani.

This is on the top of another two who had resigned the party- Luyang assemblyman Hiew King Cheu and former Seremban MP John Fernandez.

Tora Malaya..

No comments:

Post a Comment